stillvoicing

Still.

 

This strange word points, on the one hand, to peace, quiet and repose:  a still, small voice.  And yet, on the other, it sounds perseverance:  still voicing despite… the many forces that seek to silence those seeking truth.  Peace and perseverance meet in “still.”

 

In “stillvoicing” I hope to hold these two together, and invite you to imagine with me the possibility of a world where we still voice our hope for stillness, for peace; a world where a  fleeting light enables us to see with sharp clarity – a cloud, a mist whose edges are soft, inviting, a mystery.

 

Once a week or so, I will still be voicing – in poetry and prose – peace in spite of voices that rage against the way of promise.  I will invoke images, ideas, and questions that invite both peace and perseverance in a world that knows too little of each.  Here, I hope to still voice faith, hope and love, convinced that these are seen in the crucified one, even while I am aware that others declare other allegiances in good faith.  Hopefully, a conversation will follow from time to time.  In the meantime, thanks for visiting this sight and pondering with me the wonder of the word made flesh for a wounded world.

4 thoughts on “stillvoicing

  1. Miranda Gray says:

    How would you connect silence and still voices with the idea of “the soundtrack of your life”? I’ve heard that by 2040 we will have a generation of people who are never not accessing their favourite music.

  2. agjorgenson says:

    Great question. The way I see (hear!) it, sound without silence becomes noise. Musicians need to pay attention to the pause between the notes, and we need to pause too. Incidentally, my guess is that by 2040 quite a few people will endure forced silence, unless science can undo the sound of silence due to hearing damage.

  3. Just discovered your blog…and what a lovely way to begin this is. I was especially moved by the poetic imagery ” …a world where a fleeting light enables us to see with sharp clarity – a cloud, a mist whose edges are soft, inviting, a mystery.”

    I look forward to reading further poetic invitations into mystery.

  4. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks Vida. I have to say I’m rather enjoying learning more in this way.

Leave a Reply

