Snowing Down

Yesterday my wife announced “ Tomorrow we’re going to buy a snow blower.”

Small things can be bigger than they first appear, and something the size of a snow blower portends even more significant changes than one might imagine. This is clear from the rationale attending this pronouncement: “We aren’t getting any younger.” Of course, this has been true for quite a few years; and so this particular proclamation yesterday meant something more than it has before.

All week long I’ve been whining about a sore shoulder. We have had a few weeks of trying weather. For those familiar with south-western Ontario, this will not come as news. The snow we’ve received over the last few weeks has been unusually dense. Not much air, if any, is found between the needles of the ‘flakes’ in my yard. Shoveling has become a bit more onerous.

I should mention that this isn’t the first time the idea of a snow blower has been broached. Two years ago we had a winter with astounding amounts of snow, and I suggested we might buy a snow blower for my fiftieth birthday, which came and went during a green winter. This year has been a bit different – although most certainly not our worst. Still, my wife sees me shoveling and, I suspect, is mindful of my family’s heart history. A snow blower is as much a preventative caution as a prescriptive cure for the odd ache.

I appreciate my wife’s concern for my health, and suspect that a snow blower might not be a bad idea at all. This, not only because it will hopefully relieve my shoulder of its pain and my wife of my complaints, but also because it will serve as a regular reminder that this journey from cradle to grave has important markers that invite me , invite you to stop and take stock of where we have been, where we are, and where we are going. This is never a bad thing.

So, today in church, I will take a moment to give thanks for the many years that have been a rich gift to me. I will take a moment to savor being beside someone whose life intersected mine at just the right time. I will take a moment to ponder how I can live fruitfully into future moments fully alive in each day given me. I hope your day gives you occasion to do what you need to do to pause, to ponder and to anticipate the gifts of life and the gift of new life.

12 thoughts on “Snowing Down

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    Wonderful material for further reflection. I read somewhere recently that more people in the 60 to 70 age bracket are happier than any other. There is much to look forward to!

    • agjorgenson says:

      Here, here! Yes, we can make the most of whatever our age bracket as long as we are willing both to accept our real limitations and break through our imagined ones. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Steve Lakey says:

    This is a great way to look at life, with gratitude and appreciation. Thank you.

  3. shoreacres says:

    Smiling, here. “Snowing down” reminds me of the need to “Slow down” – surely one reason for your wife’s suggestion.

    I’ve imposed a few restrictions on myself in my daily work. I no longer climb masts, for example, and I’ve stopped working from floating platforms. I’ve no need to splatter myself on a deck because someone didn’t replace their running rigging, or electrocute myself by putting both me and a power tool in the water at the same time.

    Ten years ago? I was perfectly comfortable doing such things. Now, there’s just enough hesitation when I walk a 12″ finger pier that I’m aware of it, and know it’s time to pay attention to those little reminders that balance, perception and attentiveness often go before strength.

    As for Marie’s comment – oh,yes! There is much to look forward to. At 66, I’ve never been happier in my life. Do I wish I could have a little country place? Yes, I do. Do I wish I had family to support me as I begin to grow old? Certainly. But none of that really impinges on my happiness. We do what we can, adjust for what we can’t, and give thanks for every, single day.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks for this great comment! Yes, adjusting along the way seems to be the clue to happiness at every stage in life. Plus, even while we pull back in some ways because of some physical limitations, age often affords other luxuries: wisdom, patience, and the gift of not taking oneself too seriously.

  4. diannegray says:

    I think your wife is right and a snow blower is a great idea. Walking around outside and blowing snow is still ‘exercise’ in my book. I’m grateful every morning that I can swing my legs out of the bed and walk! There is no reason for my thinking like this, just the fact that I’m thankful every day of the most simple things in life and I never take anything for granted. Best of luck with the snow blower 🙂

  5. agjorgenson says:

    Many thanks. Yes, my wife is wise, and so i nearly always heed her suggestions, especially regarding health. In Canada, heart attack while shoveling snow is not at all uncommon. Men tend to overestimate their physical well-being, and then rush (since we almost always shovel the snow at the same time as we are late for work etc!) to our detriment. Thanks for the well wishes.

  6. jannatwrites says:

    I think the snow blower would be a wise investment – sooner than later. I like the last two paragraphs; being thankful and grateful each day is something I make a conscious effort to do. Each day is a blessing.

  7. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks for your comment! Yes the hunt has begun, and the sales are on since it is end of season (the down side being limited options).

  8. Diane Rivers says:

    Love this whole post, but my favorite part is this tender observation: “I will take a moment to savor being beside someone whose life intersected mine at just the right time.” What an important perspective!

  9. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks for the kind comment Diane. Taking some time each day to savor those who enrich our life makes it so much more enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

