Greening now

Greening now the tree queries me
“How will you be on earth? As you are in heaven?
Rooted in the mystery
you are
not far
from surfacing, from breaking through to freedom.”

My maple mentor
reminds me that we
are rooted
in fecundity.

We share this – even while
she coaxes me to be where I am
despite
these roving roots that skip me, spin me, ski me, kneel me
across earth’s girth.

I slip across the land while my sister keeps watch,
firm on terra firma,
she teaches me to be where I am
even while my
where whirls on
in its way.

12 thoughts on “Greening now

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    Lovely reflection. Rooted, the plant world has much to teach us about the real meaning of freedom. Our questions all states of min(e)d.

  2. shoreacres says:

    And isn’t it the case that “being where we are” can be most difficult thing in the world? So often, when I’m at work, I long to be at home doing “this or that”. When I’m at home, I fuss over the need to spend more hours at work. At the grocery store, I think of the friend I’m not visiting, and when I’m out in the country, I regret not disciplining myself to write.

    Around and around we go!

    • agjorgenson says:

      Yes, indeed, always wanting to be where we are not is not an obligatory burden, but too often chosen all the same. I like how you name those small examples, where we are most often caught in the act of racing towards the future.

  3. diannegray says:

    This is just beautiful, Allen. It’s how I’m feeling at the moment 😀

  4. Thanks for this poem. I like the “as it is in heaven” line too; from which vantage we and our maple and earth siblings are linked. From my where, whirling across the prairies right now –

  5. Denise Hisey says:

    Lovely, Allen. Quite lovely… ‘to be where I am’… I needed this reminder.

  6. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks for your encouragement!

  7. jannatwrites says:

    “She teaches me to be where I am” – I love that line. It’s a beautiful poem- thanks for sharing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

