If I Look

On June 19th, I join 5 fellow pilgrims on the Dovre to Trondheim portion of St. Olaf’s Way.  In preparation for this twofold journey the following came my way and so I share it with you.

If I look deep

enough,

will I find traces

of those northern winds – that  drove

this Norseman’s kin

far from home?

Will I see the roots of

this ‘destiny’ – no longer

flailing against misfortune;

too little for too many?

Will I divine

winds petrified – stories

etched as stone – deep,

deep down?

Will I see coal veins, where

trees once swayed from a spirited wind?

Will I see a daring to best

death by a kind of dying?

If I look?

10 thoughts on “If I Look

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    quite lovely. I like the coal veins image.

  2. diannegray says:

    Very beautiful, Allen. Best of luck with the pilgrimage…

  3. shoreacres says:

    My gracious! What an experience! I have a blogging friend who hiked the Camino de Santiago in Spain. It was a wonderful experience for her, and I know this will be for you.

    The poem’s lovely, and certainly evokes some of my Scandinavian heritage for me – my Swedish grandfather was an Iowa coal miner, though whether he was involved with the small-scale mining in Sweden before he came here, I don’t know. He and my grandmother came from Sweden separately, met in Minneapolis, married and moved to Iowa.

    I’m especially fond of the phrase “petrified winds”, with that double meaning – stilled, and terrified. Very interesting.

    And of course I’m remembering that old, old taunt from my childhood:
    “Ten thousand Swedes ran into the weeds at the Battle of Copenhagen. Ten thousand Swedes ran into the weeds – chased by one Norwegian!”

  4. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks Linda. I’ll use the taunt most carefully! The woman who organized this originally planned on the Camino, but opted for the Norwegian pilgrimage because of personal interest (which I share) plus the Camino is apparently getting very crowded. St. Olaf’s Way is still relatively unknown. As for petrified as terrified, I am glad you caught that because I didn’t! Words are the best!

  5. jannatwrites says:

    How exciting! This should be quite a journey for you. And yes, you probably will find much writing inspiration 🙂

  6. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks for commenting. I really look forward to this. So much walking, so much thinking, so much time.

  7. Denise Hisey says:

    Very exciting Allen! Looking forward to reading about your adventure.

  8. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks, I’m looking forward to some inspiration along the way!

Leave a Reply

