Earth’s Unwinding

Friends, a poem from a year ago that seems fitting today.

This is the season of earth’s unwinding – finding
soil’s Sabbath.
You can hear terra firma
exhale
expire
exhausted, she
sleeps and with sleep
comes a dreaming –finally
ease frees earth’s form to reframe:
subliminal luminosity obtains.
The sun lays low and so
bestows on the earth – that I am –
a softer glow
a kind of light that sees shade
not as harbinger of dark dangerous design
but as foreshadows of my resolve:
I will stop. I will pray. I will stay distraction.
I will dare that dying
that is life, that is wealth, that is
repose, reward, renewal.
I will be late Autumn.
I will be November.

11 thoughts on “Earth’s Unwinding

  1. Diane Rivers says:

    These words are so soothing and lilting. I want to read them over and over this afternoon and relax in their harmony. You have a gift, Allen. I so enjoy your poetry.

  2. shoreacres says:

    You’ve conveyed so well one characteristic of autumn that I love – the beginning of the time of lying fallow. It’s always amused me a bit, and sometimes perplexed me, that at the very time nature’s cycles are leading to darkness and repose, we’re in the process of speeding up. A new school year with its demands, new work projects after vacation and so on.

    But our spirits require rest, and lying fallow isn’t laziness. Thanks for the beautiful reminder that a new – and acceptable – season is upon us.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Linda, I too love autumn. I often wonder how we can better structure or organize our lives in order to rest. But then I remember that most often it simply involves saying “no,” not just to things I don’t like, but also things I enjoy. That is the hard bit! Allen

  3. “as foreshadows of my resolve”
    BRAVO.

  4. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks! Wish me luck in my endeavour.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    This is nice. “repose, reward, renewal” – I think we should follow November’s lead 🙂

  6. guestpeaker says:

    Reblogged this on From guestwriters and commented:
    At the time of Elul and entering a new academic year it is good, looking forward to a new season, the transition time should make us to relax, unwind and take time to resource, certainly now the nature is going over to the time of sleep, where plants shall change colour and let us think of death and life, past and future.

Leave a Reply

