A Divine Slip

God slipped past me today.
I caught a glimpse of him out
of the right corner of my right eye.
He walked askew, seemingly oblivious to
all around and yet taking it all in,
taking us all in, just
differently.
Shirt tattered, he
wore the world’s woes
with a peculiar aplomb.
Shoes scarred, he
shuffled alongside those
blindsided by life’s lunacy.
God wasn’t tired, not exactly, and
yet I saw in his gait that the distance from
life to death and death to life
is not so very far.

11 thoughts on “A Divine Slip

  1. dianerivers says:

    “Blindsided by life’s lunacy” – oh, man. I’ve been one of those and it’s so encouraging to imagine God shuffling alongside of me at those times. The images in this poem are just riveting, Allen.

  2. Denise Hisey says:

    What an interesting perspective, Allen. I enjoyed this very much.

  3. shoreacres says:

    There are so many ways to speak the same truth. I have no idea if I’d hear echoes of Eliot in your last lines had I not been immersed in his work of late, but still, I hear them.

    Those last lines also remind me of one of the great, poignant truths of life: there’s an infinity between one and none. Whether that’s true mathematically, I don’t know. But, it’s clearly true in life, and knowing that someone walks beside us can be as important as life itself.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Yes, I concur with this. Being-with makes being worth the while. I’m glad to hear you find resonances. The manner in which recollection works is a mystery to me and thus so very rich.

  4. jannatwrites says:

    This is one of my favorite poems that you’ve written. Seeing God somewhere where we wouldn’t think to see him is the whole point of life, I think. It opens our eyes and turns our thinking around. The last two lines are so profound. The circle is a tight one… smaller than we think sometimes.

  5. […] via Slip by Allen Jorgenson. […]

  6. I appreciate this fresh look at Jesus in the mundane. The voice and diction convey the ordinary well, while in no way being lackluster.

Leave a Reply

