I will not be waylaid

I will not be waylaid
You cannot pray me away.
I will be heard.
You will endure my word.
My pause will not
be cause
for your intervention,
your vain prevention.
Your order will be but
fodder for my persistence
wearing down, tearing down
your resistance.
No.
I will not be waylaid.
I will be heard.

What did you think of as you read this little poem? I composed it about three weeks ago, in church. It was sparked by a little boy who had a thing or two to say during the children’s sermon. The pastor tried in vain to return order to this Sunday morning ritual. All pastors know the experience of a persistent child, who derails your clever object lesson, story etc. As I heard him, I thought how this sort of insistence serves well those who have been silenced. He was for me a reenactment of the parable of the woman visiting the unjust judge. That lad was not way-laid. I heard him.

27 thoughts on “I will not be waylaid

  1. rita kowats says:

    I like this very much, thank you. Sometimes we “interrupt “because the other has become a despot of words, choking us with them!

  2. Marie Taylor says:

    nicely observed. persistence and rigidity – two faces of one thing.

  3. dianerivers says:

    Definitely the woman visiting the unjust judge, but I also thought of Jesus Himself, always pursuing us, always trying to get us to see Him and accept Him. I’m glad you gave us insight into what prompted this poem!

  4. Bruce Thompson says:

    Thanks Allen for your poem. It happened to me this week as a young girl derailed my “Kids Korner” time. Thinking more about this moment and now your words have me considering this; that maybe God was saying, “Listen.” Often we have our agendas and we do push them, sometimes to the point where we do not hear other small voices. Always enjoy your blogs. Blessings!

  5. cloudborne says:

    Reminds me of the movie “Pump Up the Volume”, which I saw for the first time last night!

  6. diannegray says:

    A lovely piece, Allen. You’re very observant 😉

  7. Love this Al…and I love how children have so much to teach us…”for of such is the kingdom of God.” Precious, insightful teachers…

  8. Funny, I read this poem after reading and thinking about your post about the drums and dancing. Last night on CBC I heard an aboriginal man say something like “reconciliation must not be turned into another opportunity for a more subtle assimilation” and your poem reminded me of his words.

  9. jannatwrites says:

    I read the poem again after you shared your inspiration and picked up on things I had missed the first time around. I had to smile at the not being able to pray him away… I bet the pastor might’ve thought a prayer or two in the moment 🙂

  10. shoreacres says:

    I’ve been reading some reports from Liberia of late, and just yesterday watched another clip from “Pray the Devil Back to Hell”, the documentary about the women of Liberia who helped put an end to the terror-filled reign of Charles Taylor.

    For me, the poem is the very voice of those women — the ones who would not be denied justice and peace.

    • agjorgenson says:

      What a great connection to make! We have two women from Liberia who are coming to our school this spring to take some counselling courses around post-trauma work. They are being supported by a group from Toronto who are partnering with the Lutheran church in Liberia, which is doing great work. I thought of you when I heard this, remembering that this country is close to your heart!

  11. Denise Hisey says:

    Nice poem, Allen. It reminds me of myself now. I refuse to be silenced anymore.

  12. I thought of her too. =)
    Nice droning to the poem. Yes, it’s a compliment, as I know how droning’s often used. That was the point, the repeat entreaty.

Leave a Reply

