The Poetry of Bread

This poem in my hands,
this dough rolling round
my fingers sings
of soil, of seed,
of leaven, of levity.
No metaphor, this loaf
is the real deal. Its rise
upends depression
reverses detestation as
flour weds yeast weds water – salted and oiled.
In this feast of chaos, this orgy of gorging,
each ingredient eats the other,
smothered in love’s wager. And then
a miracle emerges – a loaf, no six! – and each one
anxious for flame, for fire – this poem
now ready to be read,
aching to be eaten.

14 thoughts on “The Poetry of Bread

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    Very good! This poem in my hands … what a wonderful starting point.

  2. diannegray says:

    Fantastic! I could feel it rising 😀

  3. I start the day hungry
    and grow hungrier
    My mouth fills
    with anticipation

  4. vidajay says:

    I love how you start with the poem…and then knead our imagination into the dough and then return to the poem. Is it “the poetry of bread” or “the bread of poetry”?

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. Well, it surely could be the bread of poetry, couldn’t it? I felt as though the dough in my hand was musing me along… hence the title.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    Homemade bread is the best. How cool that it was the inspiration for this beautiful poem!

  6. dianerivers says:

    Your poetry is always inspirational – and filling! I love the alliteration and line breaks, as well as the imagery (I am reminded of Jesus’ miraculously feeding the five thousand). You knead it all together so well!

  7. shoreacres says:

    Such a rich poem. I love the affirmation of reality – oil, seed, salt, leaven. And I love the “working”, too. Even with a leavened dough, there won’t be a loaf at the table, minus effort.

    Your ending is so true – the reciprocal relationship between the reader and writer is critical. What good are words spoken or written, unheard or unread? And what good are words read without taking time to savor? I’ve always thought that the language about encountering a text and being encountered by a text is absolutely dead-on.

    Such a lovely poem. I really like it.

    • agjorgenson says:

      I’m so glad you enjoy it Linda! I agree that this two fold relationship to texts is so critical. I often tell my students that how we treat texts and how we treat people are not unrelated.

Leave a Reply

