Far from Truth

Far from truth, this lie

sneaks along in the night:

sun blind-sided,

moon on the wane,

stars amiss,

darkness reigns.

Yet this cannot hold; its promised

security, its pretense of

surety collapse, this

feigned “everything covered”

crashes in on itself.  And

from the chaos curiosity is

recovered, uncovered, discovered.

Darkness lightens as this burden

of certainty stretches to breaking – my

bonds, my fetters, my chains

snap and You burst upon me – You

Firefly, Flaming Sky, Lightning’s Cry and

I, I glow yet

again.

5 thoughts on “Far from Truth

  1. diannegray says:

    Absolutely beautiful and poignant, Allen 🙂

  2. shoreacres says:

    I do so like:

    sun blind-sided,
    moon on the wane,
    stars amiss…

    There’s such a strong sense there of a world canted off its axis, things gone awry.

    As for “everything covered” and all of the references to uncovering, recovering, discovering — taken in the context of the entire poem — there’s no escaping it for a Springsteen fan. Take a listen to this and see if you don’t find some connection.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks. I’m glad to know we were both a-mused by the same themes. As for Springsteen, I’m definitely finding a connection. This piece is so apt, even though I did not have it in mind (at least at the nearest level to the writing process) when i composed the poem. What was guiding me along was the idea that I have met here and there that the etymology of “truth” via Greek is found in the word for “uncover.” Thanks for adding Springsteen to that, who may well have known of this etymology!

  3. jannatwrites says:

    I like the journey in this. Going from the uncertainty of a world out of sorts, to the breaking free from that constraint leaves me with a feeling of hope and joy.

Leave a Reply

