Of Loam and Libation

Here, on earth

Your will is done, where

Your Reign will not come

without the

taste of dirt, the

smell of leather, the

sight of nests – mysteriously mingling tree, field, sky, death;

without the feel of skin on skin, on concrete, in water,

now warm, now cold.

 

In these You eschew

our sanctimonious platitudes,

our betrayals of uncertainty, and

when we despair, You come

in body broken

in blood poured upon us:

You a libation,

we the loam, the earth, the ancestors,

the terra not so firma, but trembling:

frightened, and tender, and ripe.

7 thoughts on “Of Loam and Libation

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’ll be back to read the poem, but I’m just laughing. I’m sitting here working on a poem right now — and the title is “Libation”! It’s for later on down the road, maybe three or four weeks. But it does tickle me that you’re pondering it, too.

    I wonder if all of the news and our associations with Liberia are playing into this. Pouring libations was a common practice at funerals there. Hard to say.

    Be back in a bit to read!

    • agjorgenson says:

      That is hilarious, although I did write it about a month ago, and did some editing today. This does not preclude the Liberia connection cannot be gainsaid since Lazarus and Esther were around at that time. Interesting…

  2. shoreacres says:

    My favorite line, perhaps, is that about the “terra not so firma.” It does feel to me as though the foundations of our society are crumbling, and the rise of violence is tearing asunder not only communities but whole nations. I don’t think I’d make a very good Jeremiah, but a few jeremiads might be called for.

    With so many bodies strewn over the lands and so much blood shed, it’s good to remember the Body and Blood that underlie it all.

  3. jannatwrites says:

    I also like the terra not so firma. Such a beautiful and thought-provoking poem!

  4. “our sanctimonious platitudes,

    our betrayals of uncertainty, and

    when we despair, ”

    Like this. I appreciate the reverence I find in this blog.

  5. dianerivers says:

    I feel like I’ve been to church after reading this. I love the concept of Jesus being a libation. Really beautiful and moving. Thank you ~

Leave a Reply

