So here I sit in Edinburgh

So here I sit in Edinburgh 

Single malt at hand¡

A castle overlooking me while

I ponder what I have overlooked.

Tasks at home now

Chinks in my armor

Flanks under seige by

Poor planning, by poverty of prognostication and

Yet a ridiculous richness descends on me in my

Knowing that driving on the left

Leaves me disabused of certainty – each

Traffic circle gracelessly cornered a sign of

Undeserved grace.  Far from home

I sit back – when safe so to do – and

Ponder my place in a place such as this:

Afar and alien by a half.

13 thoughts on “So here I sit in Edinburgh

  1. shoreacres says:

    Somehow, there’s a feeling of “circling around” things in this poem. Maybe it’s a reaction to those round-abouts. The first time I encountered one was in Kansas, of all places. Then I found one in Louisiana. I’m not sure what it would do to me, to live in a place where they’re common. Good luck – and thanks for the delightful musings!

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks for commenting. These roundabouts have become quite popular in Kitchener. I encountered them first in Edmonton, many years ago, just prior to their being removed. It seems they work extraordinarily well up to a certain traffic volume at which point they bottle neck. i suspect city planners love them for the way in which they slow down the traffic without stopping it. I must say, though, that going about them clockwise rather than the opposite was an Angst inducing experience of a higher order!

  2. perrymj says:

    An old world sense of castle, single malt, slower pace, and time to recollect things undone. And the referendum news is…..?

  3. Marie Taylor says:

    disabused of certainty and pondering … a wonderful combination.

  4. jannatwrites says:

    I like the layering of the castle overlooking while pondering things that had been overlooked.

  5. diannegray says:

    I felt like I was sitting there with you, Allen….

Leave a Reply

