In India, You Slip

In another town, another

place, I saw You

unexpectedly; for a time

with a toothless grin, and then

with elegance wrapping You round, You

sat with such poise and then gone – again.

And then Your trace graced my glance

racing to catch You on mother’s

lap in rickshaw.

But no.  No one is fast enough to

snag You, let alone bag You.

In market’s noise, in traffic’s throes, in

India, You slip between like the child

You are, running your father’s errand – You

skirt past me, again and I, I

am caught.

8 thoughts on “In India, You Slip

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    S/He is everywhere. 🙂

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Lovely poem! I like how you phrased this line, “And then Your trace graced my glance”

  3. shoreacres says:

    The rhythm and simplicity of this are so nice. I especially liked, “You slip between like the child you are….” That’s lovely, and an image not often enough used.

  4. Me too. “The child you are, slipping between us…” This is really beautiful and says so much. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

