Light Arrested My Eyes

Dear Readers,

This evening was our annual Art and Vespers Service at Waterloo Lutheran Seminary.  I was asked to respond, poetically, to Isaiah 40:26.  Both the verse and my response follow.

Lift up your eyes on high and see:
Who created these?
He who brings out their host and numbers them,
calling them all by name;
because he is great in strength,
mighty in power,
not one is missing.

 

Light arrested my eyes last night

Light older than our mother, earth.

And this light sang to me,

Of comets and constellations

Of darkness and dust

Of cherubim and seraphim.

 

This light was wise, apprised of

The good, the true, the beautiful, yet it knew too

Of my fear of being blindsided by high-minded expectations of

Stellar piety.

And so it settled me, this light – it sang me

Into rapture as it captured me

With a luminosity

Both soft and penetrating.

 

The lights in the sky are not mood lights, but

Explosions of joy,

Incensing cosmic altars

Imaging mystery for all

Lifting high, each eye.

 

The lights in the sky are not

Content to stay, but earthward

Make their way, their rays

Making of me

A mess.

I weep their beauty, a puddle of poetic potency at my feet.

 

I am undone by You, You the Light of lights

Of star, of moon, of fire, of me, of us.

Aflame, we light out and so light up

The sky, until we fade into the dark

Where you remember each of us,

as we surrender to the sky that we become.

12 thoughts on “Light Arrested My Eyes

  1. My gratitude is deep. Thank-you for sharing your light.

  2. that is something devoutly to pray for: the time in our darkness when we will be remembered. Thank-you, Allen.

  3. Lovely opening stanza, Allen. I also am partial to

    The lights in the sky are not
    Content to stay, but earthward
    Make their way
    =============

    Love the reverence.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks. There is a jaw dropping astonishment that comes to me when I think that these rays of light from stars are older than the earth. It takes my breath away so that I receive a new Breath.

  4. Marie Taylor says:

    “I am undone by You…” “we surrender to the sky”. Love it!

  5. shoreacres says:

    I was caught first by a line in the verse: not one is missing.

    The more I thought about it, the more I realized the connection with your lovely poem. Any star can shine by itself, but it takes every one to make a constellation!

    And I just laughed at your use of the phrase “a mess.” The contrast between those two ordinary, common words and the elevated language of the rest of poem really embodies the divine-human encounter.

    I like this, very much.

    • agjorgenson says:

      I’m glad you enjoy this little project of mine. Thanks for your reflections on the constellation. There is surely a poem in that line alone… Glad you caught the earthiness toward the end of the poem. In a way, all of this elevated language fails if it doesn’t help us to look down as well!

  6. dianerivers says:

    Sometimes when I look at the sky, I am undone by the vastness of it all and then I am pierced with the realization that in the middle of all that, God sees me, in all my smallness. That “puddle of poetic potency”? I get that and I, too, weep. Thank you for saying all this so well.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks for commenting. Yes, the vastness is soul food. I get is also from the prairies, and the oceans, and the mountains… and then sometimes small things take me in. Life is rich. We simply need to look!!

Leave a Reply

