All in Good Rhyme

My pencil sings, though oft off tune;
Of flesh, of sweat, of work. Too soon
the graphite dulls and edges blur.
Each passing line, I feel less sure.
I write, I draw against the grain,
while still I can, and then again,
an end arrives of poem, of line,
of light, of love of life, my wine.
I’m sated now: enough this time;
but in due course, I’ll raise a rhyme.

I am not given to writing poems in rhyme, or with such a meter, but this one just fell in my lap. So here it is. Perhaps I’ll throw it back. Happy Sunday All.

9 thoughts on “All in Good Rhyme

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    delightful. it’s a keeper.

  2. shoreacres says:

    I don’t know what to call such things, but I can “hear” them now and then. Try a switch from “while I still can” to “while still I can” and see how it sounds to you.

    What’s so interesting is that the artist, Z, who comments on my posts, just was talking about pencil sketching. She says that when she’s doing fine detail work, she sometimes sharpens her pencil once every minute!

    No, I agree this is a keeper. I’m not much given to rhyme and meter myself, but it’s happened once or twice, and I do like them. I very much like this one, too.

  3. jannatwrites says:

    I like the rhythm/rhyme of this! Rhyming is best when it just happens rather than being forced.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks Janna. I agree that forced rhyme is less attractive. Sometimes I read poems that seem artificial because of the rhyming, or meter patterns. But sometimes it just works.

  4. dianerivers says:

    What a joy to read! So glad it “fell into your lap” and you chose to share it with us.

Leave a Reply

