Of March and Mirth

These days seem weighty.
March’s time does not march at all,
but shuffles along, sometimes even losing ground.
In fact just this last week
Tuesday followed Wednesday, which
meant I had to do Wednesday twice
and Tuesday too.

Spring came but just now announced a
reversal of course. Time
it seems, is not always on our side.

Thank goodness for space. Today,
walking home, a lane announced
that hope is in order – shouting out
a colorful mural like a street preacher. And
earlier in the day
an empty parking lot said
“Take a look!” and so I
did and the heavens wrapped me round
like a quilt,
like a mother,
like life.

10 thoughts on “Of March and Mirth

  1. dianerivers says:

    March really does shuffle along and just this week we, too, experienced a “reversal of course”. I enjoyed how you expressed it as “Tuesday followed Wednesday”. How true! The reappearance of snow here did not bring mirth to mind, however. I’m ready for March to get a backbone and march on out. Delightful poem!

  2. Marie Taylor says:

    time goes back and forth, fast and slow but always moving. delightful.

  3. shoreacres says:

    This will tickle you. I caught the change in title, but not before I’d done some serious research, and discovered that mirch is a seasoning much used in Indian cooking. Since you’ve recently traveled to India, well: I just assumed there was a connection!

    I love the humor, the sly reference to the space-time continuum and the very real possibility that our days could get all mixed up. But I mostly enjoyed the poem as a whole. I don’t know how you feel about it, but it seems to me your most purely poetic to date. It made me smile, all the way through.

    • agjorgenson says:

      That is funny!! I have no idea how I managed to replace a t with a c?! But maybe I will write a Mirch poem too, but not before I try cooking with it! I am so very happy it made you smile. What more can a poet ask for? I’m not altogether sure how I feel about it as a whole. I like that it moves across a range of emotions. I like especially like the Tuesday/Wednesday bit. I like the “reversal of course” which might sound a little like “reversal, of course.” I’m not altogether happy with the first line, but need to sit on that for a time. Thanks for your encouragement.

  4. jannatwrites says:

    The passage of time does seem to change cadence at times (or even go in reverse, as in the case of spring retreating for another taste of winter.) There are times in life where time seems to whiz by, we blink and days or weeks have slipped away… then other times, days seem doubly long. This week, for me, has been an interesting combination of the two 🙂

    • agjorgenson says:

      Well I’m glad you are getting a mix! Life can be funny (and sad) that way. Time doesn’t seem to really obey the physics of sand slipping through an hour glass!

  5. Oh, I really, really enjoyed this Allen. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

