Delicate to My Fault

I saw her yesterday, finger to chin, eyes on fire:
divine cloud, Shekinah:
holy presence wholly present
in curiosity, a new born leaf
trembling at sun, rain, day, night,
coming to light with different kinds
of wisdom.  She readily weeps
with enchantment.  I wonder
if this tearing thunder
is a gift I can bear.
Dare I step under this yoke?
Incognito, unannounced, and
unconditionally vulnerable, she is not so much
angelic as delicate to my fault:
wet ink on paper
shimmering yet shivering at
the thought of being smeared.

 

12 thoughts on “Delicate to My Fault

  1. dianerivers says:

    There’s such a rhythm to this piece, as with all your poetry. A delight to read and ponder! Beautiful ~

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks Diane! I have to admit the rhythm is not at the front of my mind as I write these, but rather the images. I suspect I write rhythmically as a result of my time spent preaching.

  2. diannegray says:

    Absolutely beautiful, delicate words, Allen 🙂

  3. shoreacres says:

    This is lovely in so many ways. “Shekinah” sent me off on one track, and then I unaccountably was on another. I especially like the leaf imagery. What I can’t get my mind around yet is the phrase “delicate to my fault.” That’s no fault of the poem, it’s onlyl an indication that I need to live iwth it a bit more.

    What tickles me is that “shimmering” is all over the web, suddenly. I’ve used it twice of late, you’ve used it here, and another blogger I follow, an artist, used it to describe one of her paintings. I think it’s the influence of the season!

    • agjorgenson says:

      That is funny about shimmering! I often find that, though. Something that I think is bubbling up is really in the air. I don’t think that’s bad, but it is good to be mindful of the way our language is being molded by communities. As for “delicate to my fault” I’m glad that you are willing to sit with it for a bit. I really appreciate the feedback. It sort of snuck up on me and I liked it, so I thought I’d give it a try!

  4. Mary says:

    divine and delightful

Leave a Reply

