More Flesh, Please

Ideas alone will not suffice.

We need to work our jaws on wheat
as well as words. Notions knock
at the door of touch and
propositions plead
for a taste of oven’s bread.

Light not only enlightens but also
illumines truth bare: it declares
this sag, that scar, each war waged
on the flesh and by it too.

My body will not bear
embarrassingly barren platitudes.
It wants to push against flesh,
to delight in dill’s delicacy and lime’s tang.

I cannot live in a cloud.
I ache to awaken with
skin singing and taste buds weeping –
my body knowing pleasure,
knowing God, in the
flesh.

8 thoughts on “More Flesh, Please

  1. diannegray says:

    Beautifully stated, Allen.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    This is beautiful. Seeing God as nourishment for body and soul rather than an abstract being is so much more satisfying.

  3. shoreacres says:

    My first thought was, “Has Allen been baking bread again?”

    My second thought was, “Absolutely. Yes.” Keep your Platonic ideals, and your Eastern dissolving-into-the-mists-of-being. I’ll take creation and incarnation every time. Reality is mediated, and because every bit of creation was created, every bit of it can mediate the divine presence.

    Which is to say: this is a wonderful poem, and one of my favorites.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Yes, bread is never so very far away from me and my thinking! Last night I made granola. There might be a post in that some day too! Plato has his purposes, but I’m with you on this. The world is a rich place and to see it as a problem to rise above is to take a pass on too much beauty, and joy.

Leave a Reply

