Pokégone

Not so many months ago, people were running around local parks looking for this elusive Pokémon or that, jumping fences in pursuit of cyber characters. There was much talk about the genius of this hybrid activity that was getting young folk and others out of houses and into the fresh air. I’ve noticed of late that fewer are on the hunt. It might be attributed to the weather, but still we have had a warm fall and it seems that the rage really has been ratcheted down in our parts. It never really made a big impact on our daughters, who are the age of its biggest fans.

My daughters did not play Pokémon in its heyday. While their friends enjoyed the game, they missed out on it because they didn’t think we could afford it. This was, a conclusion they came to on their own and in part, it reflected our decision in those days not to have cable. Consequently they could not watch the animated shows, nor did we have the Game Boy necessary to support the video games. Interestingly, they never asked about it, and it passed us by.

While it is true that we didn’t have a lot of money in those days – I was a graduate student and my wife was at home with the girls – their self-understanding at that time of our family as poor interests me. In some ways, they were correct. We didn’t have a lot of cash, and we lived frugally. But the girls never went without what they most needed, and we were even able to enjoy summer holidays some years. For the four years of my studies I had a bit of money from scholarships, a part-time pastorate and student loans. Our shekels, when scraped together, kept us above the poverty line. All the same, we lived well and I have fond memories of those days.

I remember, in particular, my last year in my program as a full time student. I split up my time with writing my dissertation, preaching on Sundays and caring for a small community, and teaching a theology class. I recall it as one of the finest years in my life, doing all the things I loved with hardly a meeting to attend. It was a rich life in many ways – at least for me, but one year was enough. It was time to move along.

Eventually we got cable, which we have since ditched. All the same, Pokémon never caught on – perhaps it was too late. Eventually our daughters came to realize that poverty and riches can be measured in diverse ways, and our place in a so-called first world meant that we are too often differently needy. And yet, slivers of light showed us and show us still that God gives us each other, as well as ways to live with some meaning and hope in our world and as well as the divine Self in Word and world. At the intersection of faith and love, hope shapes us into believing that a different way is possible: the coming Reign of justice, kindness and humility gives us something more substantive to seek than cyber characters. It drives us out of our pews and off of our haunches into a world where deep mysteries light our way and holy moments sustain us in dark times.

10 thoughts on “Pokégone

  1. LC Mueller says:

    I saw some Pokemon devotees in Hamilton in the lake side park I walked in, when you were taking down your sailboat… but here in Calgary they have almost disappeared. My kids never got into it either. Interesting the kids’ perception of our wealth, or lack thereof… I think ours told people we couldn’t afford things rather than tell them that it was a choice NOT to afford them. Like phones, which we held off on for as long as possible. There are so many ways to keep our brains busy without engaging our hearts. We also focused on valuing each other which has paid off more than whatever Pokemon had to offer. Great post… got me thinking. Wait, maybe that is what you were going for…

    • agjorgenson says:

      Glad to hear it got the grey cells moving along. I like the bit about keeping the brain busy to the neglect of the heart. That is at the crux of the matter, in my mind. It is true, isn’t it, that they pay-off of time together makes the pay-off of overtime etc pale by comparison.

  2. LC Mueller says:

    So much, begs for some mindfulness, we have forgotten how to live in the moment.

  3. diannegray says:

    That Pokemon craze burnt out very quickly. In fact, when I read the name of this post I thought “yes, where did it go?” We certainly weren’t rich when our children were young but they never went without. Now that they’re grown they really appreciate everything and look after what they have. It’s an important lesson in life xxx

  4. shoreacres says:

    On my recent trip, I was thinking about the disappearance of PokemonGo. Perhaps our decreasing attention span means these fads will continue to fade away sooner, but in any case, I was glad to see this one go. The vaunted “but it gets them outside” argument never impressed me, since the PokemonGo players still were essentially passive and other-directed.

    The truth is, if we refuse to allow society to define for us what’s worthy of pursuit, we’ll find other, more remarkable experiences to enrich our lives. On my recent trip, I went for three weeks in perfect silence: no tv, radio, social media, newspapers — even music. I heard a good bit, experienced more, and came home with a happy, silent heart.

    • agjorgenson says:

      It is a sad commentary on the state of our world when we need a phone to get us outside, where we look not at what is in front of us, but at what is not in front of us. This was, indeed, thin gruel if even that.

  5. R says:

    Wonderful piece!

Leave a Reply

