Ignite the Poem

I/ A single word can
ignite the poem, a
signal word that
plays the tongue and
stays silencing.
The poem
echoes beat of heart
mimics batting of eyelid
reflects crimson of cheek.

Ii/ The poem’s got my tongue, it
pinched it so as to
gain voice –
flaunting my sovereignty
in its bid to be blood and flesh.

III/ There is no need
to bother the muse – let
her sleep and I will feed
on the beauty of the day.
Let the muse be. I can
see a cloud parting the sky
in tenderness and terror both.
I am ignited in the knowing that
thunder is only the beginning.

4 thoughts on “Ignite the Poem

  1. diannegray says:

    Lovely poem Allen and I love the build-up to the storm in the last stanza.

  2. I love this poem. I could relate to the power of one word to take control… powerful, like a thunder storm

Leave a Reply

