Back from a Break

Observant readers might have noticed that I have been absent from stillvoicing for that last number of weeks. Some of you who know more of my life than others may have suspected that this is because of my broken elbow. This is, in fact, correct. My writing has been restricted by a broken elbow incurred the Saturday before Palm Sunday. I had surgery on Easter Sunday (all quiet in the hospital that day). I was in a cast for two and a half weeks after that. The cast disabled my ability to type but it did not impend my opportunities to learn, and so I share with you three important lessons acquired while in a restricted modality of life.

First lesson: go slow. The first bit of advice from my orthopedic surgeon to me after my surgery was “Don’t fall!” He repeated that after the removal of my cast. It was a fall that broke my elbow. While on a run I hit a patch of ice and took the full weight of my body on my right elbow. I am right dominate so the learning of going slow was nicely foisted upon me. But the good physician and my accident have commended that as a way of living. Going slow means savouring moments, and being present in the places you find yourself.

Second lesson: do less. Those of you who have broken bones or sustained other injuries know well that tasks done without any ado become impossible to do. And so, I had to learn to do less. But I had to learn to do less in a rather busy time. This happened at the end of term when marking was due. I tend to provide quite a lot of feedback on papers, which was now impossible without the ability to write or type. Instead, I made use of the audio file option on our online marking system. But the file only allows a five minute long file, and so I had to be succinct and direct in my comments. I had to do less, a practice that demanded doing what I did well. This, too, is a good life lesson, I think.

Third lesson: ask for help. I was unable to drive, and so my good wife became my chauffeuse extraordinaire. But she helped me with so much more, tying my shoes, making my meals, etc. Of course, she wasn’t the only person to help me out. Neighbours and colleagues helped me out with rides and this and that. Something as simple as having doors opened for me helped me to see that being helped is a way to affirm our common humanity and build relationships. Students, my hairdresser, and others helped me with coats, carrying things, and more. It is a humbling but humanizing thing to ask for help. I need to do this more, and I suspect most of us do.

Go slow, do less, and ask for help. These are things that my broken elbow said to me, and still says to me even while I have begun the slow process of healing. These are life lessons. I suspect I have heard these maxims before, but they have a certain gravitas now that is grounded in the source of the voice commending them: my body.

10 thoughts on “Back from a Break

  1. shoreacres says:

    Well, now — that’s quite a double meaning in your title. I’d assumed you were off to a conference or inundated with work. I never would have expected something like this. So, welcome back!

    Those lessons are good ones to learn. Unfortunately, most of us have to learn their value by breaking them, or having some ‘bad break’ bring their value home, but they certainly can add value to life. That said, I hope completely healing comes quickly, and that you’re soon able to do as much as you wish — with a little help, of course!

  2. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks much Linda. I am on the healing journey with the lessons well learned. My only lament is that this might mess with sailing. But we shall see what the doctor and physiotherapist say.

  3. Elsie Millerd says:

    Allen, it is good to see that you are back to sharing your insights after your bad break. They certainly are lessons that we would all be wise to take to heart. In our complex society with an emphasis on individual success it is so tempting to try to do more than enough and do it on our own. Your lessons followed would bring us into a stronger communal life with God, each other, nature and ourselves.

    May your healing continue well and in a timely fashion that will allow you some sailing this year. May we all appreciate life and each other more as we slow down, do less and lean more on each other.

    Blessings to you.

    • agjorgenson says:

      Thanks for your constant encouragement Elsie! It is greatly appreciated. Yes, I am leaning into my lessons but there is much in life that pushes against them, alas.

  4. arlavergne says:

    Happy healing. It’s good to hear your voice again.

  5. Nadine SK says:

    Remarkable learning from a seemingly annoying setback. Glad you are healing. Thank you for sharing your lived lessons. Certainly things we’d all do well to follow in order to maintain good overall health!

  6. agjorgenson says:

    Thanks so much Nadine. Of course, all of us have heard these words before but sometimes it takes events like a break to bring them home.

  7. Rebekah says:

    Well this explains it! I am not always the best at checking my WordPress reader, but I’d been thinking recently that I hadn’t seen any posts from you lately. I actually came this morning to check!

    I am sorry to hear about your injury. Our bodies and their subsequent functioning are so important for our lives. Your lessons are good ones. Prayers for continued strength and rebuilding.

Leave a comment